Modular theme - not saving any changes

open (8 posts) (2 voices)

  1. kjcornerstoneva
    Member

    We are trying to make an update to the Sociable section in our Modular theme. It keeps hanging on Save Changes. We cannot get any changes to save in the theme. The WordPress version and plug ins are all up-to-date. We really need assistance with this.

    Posted 6 months ago #
  2. OnePressTech
    Member

    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but no one from MSMW staff have responded to this forum or email contacts for over 8 months. I'm just another MSMW client lending a helping hand :-).

    I am launching a community fork of the MSMW theme suite on the 19th Nov to get maintenance back up and running.

    See http://mysitemyway.com/support/topic/good-newsmsmw-themes-replacement-to-be-launched-11-nov-2016backstop-themes and http://mysitemyway.com/support/topic/minor-delay-in-release-of-backstop-themes-release-date-now-19-nov-2016

    Regarding your current issue...you would need to disable all your plug-ins and reproduce for us to know this was a theme issue. I know that's a pain...especially on a live client site. I will be putting up a live version of each theme for testing so we can try to reproduce issues without resorting to touching our client sites...but that's a December deliverable. Until then...you need to reproduce this the old fashioned WordPress way...disable all your plug-ins and see if it still happens.

    If it still happens there are a number of possible reasons you would need to explore, most of which are not directly related to the theme...see https://www.google.com.au/search?q=mysitemyway+sociable+can%27t+save&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8

    Sorry the repair process is painful...that's the WordPress reality. Part of the reason I started a Managed Office cloud service for my clients...I don't believe a business can cost-effectively manage a business on WordPress or any other technology base without dependable I.T. managing it. The challenge is doing this at an SMB price point.

    Kind regards,
    Tim

    Tim Hibberd - Managing Director
    OnePressTech Pty Ltd
    M: +61 (0) 407 248 131
    E: tim.hibberd@onepresstech.com
    W: http://www.onepresstech.com

    Posted 6 months ago #
  3. kjcornerstoneva
    Member

    Thank you for your reply Tim!
    I appreciate your responding to my request for assistance.

    I have disabled all of the plug ins and it is not a plug in issue.

    In addition, there is also now an issue with Testimonials.
    I added some new testimonials, and updated the shortcode to indicate how many to display.
    That is also not working.

    This is really getting frustrating that things with this theme are not working.
    I am grateful that you responded and are working to assist with this.

    Best,
    Kelly

    Posted 6 months ago #
  4. OnePressTech
    Member

    This may take a few steps.

    Q1: You said you could not save sociable updates. You indicated that you have another problem with testimonials but you did not say what the problem was...is it the same problem as the sociables problem...can't save?

    Q2: What version of the Modular theme are you using?

    Q3: Do you have a child theme active (created by you or your developer)?

    Q4: Who is your hosting provider?

    Q5: What version of php are you running?

    Q6: Between the time your site worked and the time your site stopped working what changes can you recall making to the website (WordPress update Vx-to-Vy)

    Posted 6 months ago #
  5. kjcornerstoneva
    Member

    Thank you for your reply!
    I apologize for the delay in responding - I thought I would receive email notice when a reply was posted to my question. I received no notice and just checked the support forum.

    Q1: You said you could not save sociable updates. You indicated that you have another problem with testimonials but you did not say what the problem was...is it the same problem as the sociables problem...can't save?

    A: The testimonials is the same problem as the sociables - it will not allow any changes to be saved.

    Q2: What version of the Modular theme are you using?
    A: Modular version 2.3

    Q3: Do you have a child theme active (created by you or your developer)?
    A: No child theme.

    Q4: Who is your hosting provider?
    A: Hostgator

    Q5: What version of php are you running?
    A: 5.4

    Q6: Between the time your site worked and the time your site stopped working what changes can you recall making to the website (WordPress update Vx-to-Vy)
    A: The only updates we made was to update content on web pages and add a few images.

    Posted 5 months ago #
  6. OnePressTech
    Member

    Thanks for this information. It helps to weed out other potential causes.

    As another MSMW client left high-and-dry, I have taken the initiative to launch a MSMW theme community called BackStop Themes (backstopthemes.com for the techie community and am just finishing up a website upgrade for the non-techie community. I am working through the backlog of two years of php / WordPress upgrades as we speak. I expect to have an updated version for you to try late next week. It should solve your issues.

    Cheers,
    Tim
    Managing Director OnePressTech

    Posted 5 months ago #
  7. kjcornerstoneva
    Member

    Thank you Tim! I look forward to receiving the updated version of the theme to try!

    It is appreciated your offering this solution.

    Best,
    Kelly Johnson

    Posted 5 months ago #
  8. OnePressTech
    Member

    Hi Kelly,

    https://backstopthemes.com is open for business.

    I have fixed the code to address WordPress issues up to 4.6.1 and php up to php7. I have not yet worked through jQuery warnings and issues though and still need to bring all the feature components up to date but it's a start. I will be testing 4.7 over the coming week. I expect to progressively bring everything up-to-date over Dec / Jan. I am doing things slowly because the theme operates pretty reliably and I want to ensure that every incremental release is operationally sound from a business perspective.

    Give the new BST-ModularV1.0.1a try. And let me know how it goes. With the release of BST-ModularV1.0.1 I am now in a better position to help fix any bugs that you might be experiencing.

    Cheers,
    Tim

    Posted 5 months ago #

Reply

You must log in to post.

Construct WordPress Theme
Construct wordpress theme
Myriad WordPress Theme
Myriad wordpress theme
Method WordPress Theme
Method wordpress theme
Fusion WordPress Theme
Fusion wordpress theme
Elegance WordPress Theme
Elegance wordpress theme
Echelon WordPress Theme
Echelon wordpress theme
Dejavu WordPress Theme
Dejavu wordpress theme
Modular WordPress Theme
Modular wordpress theme